Defying Gravity

As the final deadline for the Alice Project draws closer I have been thinking about what I have learned and how this project has changed me. I could say the typical “I have learned and grown so much through this experience” just to get my credit for this blog entry, but I think I know someone who can say what I’m trying to say much better than I could. Her name is Elphaba.

Something has changed within me

Something is not the same
I’m through with playing by the rules
Of someone else’s game
Too late for second-guessing
Too late to go back to sleep
It’s time to trust my instincts
Close my eyes and leap

Elphaba sings this in the amazing song, Defying Gravity from the amazing musical Wicked (written and composed by Stephen Schwartz). I feel this is applicable to my current situation with the Alice project. I feel empowered by the fact that others from around the world actually care what I have to say. This has changed me. I have written work that I am proud to call my own and I can never go back to slopping through a project just to get it done. Also, my entire view of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland has changed. I can no longer just see it as a children’s story whether I like it or not. I can never un-think the conclusions I have come to. I can never return to the childlike view I had of the story before this project.

The freedom was another fantastic thing about this project.

We were given no rules about what to write about. Our minds were set free to see what we could come up with on our own. I have confidence that my work is good and I can trust my instincts to guide me in the right direction. I also was able to take more chances with this assignment. I hate being put inside a box and told what I can and can’t do, so this project was great on that aspect. This experience has made me grow up on some level as well. There were no due dates other than the final turn in day (Dec. 3) and no one making us work. The responsibility was solely in each participant’s hands.

Another part that I liked was the use of technology.

I have been technologically-challenged for as long as I can remember. I repel any and all technology, therefore using these advanced web tools was new, exciting, and challenging (and I love a challenge). Although I did not ever figure out how to make a Prezi presentation, I did get to use other collaboration tools such as CoverItLve, Diigo, and VoiceThread through the use of these by my fellow classmates and myself. I found it interesting how many web collaboration tools were available for our use and how many of them were used.

Overall I think this was a great experience that I can never return from. I liked the collaboration, use of technology, and experience that I gained from this project, even though I did not enjoy analyzing Alice.

Published in: on December 3, 2009 at 03:25  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aliceproject1.wordpress.com/2009/12/03/defying-gravity/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I noted in one of your classmate’s posts that I think most of the “quality” children’s literature is written well enough to entertain children, but also includes enough symbolism or inside jokes for adults to enjoy as well. If you think about the really good literature, movies, cartoons, etc. – those that truly stand the test of time – the best are those that appeal to both children and adults. I really doubt that Hannah Montana will be something we look back upon fondly in 100 years. (haha) But stories such as Alice, The Wizard of Oz, or even Disney’s newer movie “Up” will continue to entertain all ages.

    What do you think makes a good story that appeals to both children and adults?

  2. @Glenn Kenyon
    I found the connections between Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Wizard of Oz fascinating. I would have loved to dedicate an entire post to that subject, however so many of my classmates had already done that so I felt it would be redundant. The whole concept of a children story written for adults is intriguing to me.

  3. I find it fascinating that you connected this book to Elphaba in Wicked. The Wizard of Oz story is another example of “children” stuff really made for adults.


Leave a Reply

